SharePoint 2010 – A First Install using Local Accounts

There is probably going to be a few of these blog posts around, but I though I’d get in my effort whilst I can. 

I downloaded the installer from MSDN with no issue, and spent a few moments considering which type of install I should do.  According to a few blog posts I’d read, anything other than a ‘standalone’ installation requires the presence of an AD domain account.  So I was considering just doing a ‘standalone’ install.  Now this is generally an ‘uncool’ thing to do especially in the MVP world.  I personally don’t have a problem with it, as despite what folk-lore says, you can hook up SSMS to the embedded SQL Server which SharePoint installs in the ‘standalone’ mode (see my last blog post here).  However …

Choosing the Installation Type

… I wanted slightly easier access to the SQL database than that, and I didn’t want two instances of SQL on my VM, and I may want to farm out my installation later if I ever get a bigger another laptop. ‘Standalone’ is un-farmable by default, there is probably some hack somewhere which someone has come up with to get around that problem, personally, I can’t be bothered … and so I decided go for the Advanced, All Components option, but there was that domain account issue, I didn’t want to fart around with having to run up a domain controller every time I wanted to do some work on my demo/dev SharePoint 2010 VM.  Neil Hodgekinson to the rescue withthis great post on configuring SharePoint 2010 in non-standalone mode to use local not domain accounts, thanks to Spencer Harbar for the link.  Basically the trick is to use the new SharePoint cmdlet New-SPConfigurationDatabase which does allow you to enter the credentials of a local account.  Neil then runs PSConfigUI, basically the SharePoint Product and Technologies wizard, we’ll see how I got on in a bit.

What Platform?

So, what did I install on?  My hardware is a Dell XPS M1530 laptop with 4Gb RAM.  My VM sits on a good old USB 2.0 External HDD from Western Digital (USB powered). Low tech? You bet – cheap but not in the least bit nasty, perfectly adequate performance for my purposes.  I’m running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 (awesome operating system) and using Sun’s VirtualBox x64 as my Virtualisation platform. Why not just slap SharePoint direct onto my Win7 (as you can now do so) ? It’s beta software and unlike some people I don’t have the time or the will to keep rebuilding my laptop OS if it all goes to pot, so it’s a VM for me.  I chose a Windows 2008 SP2 (not R2) as my OS of choice simply because … well because … no real reason, oh OK, there was a reason.  I had a pre-built image up to SP1 and I couldn’t be bothered to start from scratch again.  I ensured I installed SP2 and then installed SQL Server 2008 SP1, snapshotted my VM and I was ready to go, so I thought …

Prerequisites

So after running up the installation .exe file, and admiring the lovely new splash screen ….

SP2010InstallFlashScreen

… there was a bunch of prerequisites to install in order to get SharePoint to install. 

SP2010InstallPreReqisitesOptions

So hey-ho on I went, clicked the ‘Install Prerequisites’ shortly after I hit an error screen

SP2010InstallPowershellINstallError

As you can see it was related to PowerShell, now I seemed to remember this from the July CTP so I downloaded the Powershell V2 (CTP3) installation and ran that separately as that was what SharePoint was trying to install.  I then got this error:

SP2010InstallPowershellError2

No big shakes really, seems a bit naff that you can’t run two versions of Powershell side-by-side but let’s not dwell on irrelevant details. So pretty simple really, go get rid of the version of Powershell installed with Windows 2008.  You probably won’t get this issue with Windows 2008 or Windows 2008 R2 if you haven’t got the Powershell feature enabled.  To uninstall Powershell go to Server Manager, select Features, waited for the installed features to load and then select ‘Remove Feature’, unchecked the Powershell checkbox and applied the changes, go and make a cup of tea and come back in a few minutes.  So after doing this I clicked on ‘Install Prerequisites’ again, this time it seemed to get through to the next screen OK, so I hit the Next button one or two times and the installer very nicely started to re-install the prerequisites including adding the Application Server Role.  I held my breath while it tried to do Powershell V2 (CTP3), breathed a sigh as it got past that ….

 SP2010InstallDOwnloadPowershell

… and after a while I thankfully saw the following screen…

 SP2010InstallPrerequisitesComplete

So, that seemed to be the pre-requisites installed, or was it ….?

Installing SharePoint

So, next I was onto the real install.  So I clicked on “Install SharePoint Server” and after clicking the Next button and ignoring the EULA (come on – who doesn’t eh?), and found out that it looks like you need to install some prerequisites for the prerequisites to install. Hmmm.

SP2010INstallHotfixRequired 

Clicking through some obvious links leads you to an MSDN article with links to two hotfixes, one for the OS and one for SQL 2008. 

SP2010InstallCumulativeUPdatesRequired

Unfortunately one of these is one of those dreaded ‘apply for this hotfix’, so I filled out my details and waited for the email from Microsoft containing the link to the hotfix.   Finally got hold of the hotfix, installed it, rebooted and then ran the installer again.  This time it seemed we were off … I saw what I expected, a place to enter your product key …

SP2010InstallProductKey

Next up was the Install Type screen, where I chose the second option, as I wanted to use my SQL Server Standard Instance.

 SP2010InstallChooseINstallTYpe

Next up was the component selection screen …

SP2010InstallChooseComponents

I wanted all the component plainly, wanting to install a full SharePoint on a single machine.  After a couple of confirmation screens we were off and I settled down rather nervously wondering if I could actually fix any issues when they arose. I was pleasantly surprised when nothing untoward happened and shortly afterwards I saw the Installation Completed screen. 

SP2010InstallINstallationFInished

Now at this point I took a different path, because as I mentioned at the start of this rather long blog entry, by using the standard SharePoint Products and Technologies Wizard you cannot use a SQL Server 2008 Standard database as the backing store without having Active Directory installed. However, thanks to this article by Neil Hodgekinson, you can use the Powershell cmdlet New-SPConfigurationDatabase to create a new configuration database and this DOES allow you to use local windows accounts to connect to a local installation of SQL Server. I’ll leave you to peruse the article, suffice to say it worked for me.  After that I simply ran the SharePoint Products and Technologies Wizard and it ran all the way through until it tried to configure the UserProfileService when I got this error screen:

SP2010InstallSPandTWizardFailureStep8

The details of the error is there.  I checked the log file which it provided, but it was pretty straightforward.  Because I was running on a VM on a laptop and things were struggling  a bit , the call to the UserProfileService had just timed out.  So I went and found in IIS the UserProfileService (the GUID may be different for you – I’m not sure) …

SP2010InstallTimeOutFixIIS7

… opened up the web.config in a text editor (Notepad++ is shown) and changed the service timeout to 2 minutes.  Here I was not not too bothered about performance I just wanted the thing to install, you may not want to make it this long.  You choose.

SP2010INstallTimeoutFixinWebConfig

So with this in place, I ran again the SharePoint Products and Technologies Wizard and after a while – result! 

SP2010InstallFinished

Also rather nicely, SharePoint had configured all the Service Applications (successor to Shared Services) AND it had created a Default Web Application and populated it with a Site Collection but allowed me to choose the Site Template.  This is a nice little feature which seems to be new in the Web UI in SharePoint 2010, though you could always do it through code in 2007, whereby you can create a Site Collection and populate it later with an actual root site.  So here’s what I ended up with:

SP2010InstallTemplatePicker

A single server install of SharePoint 2010 using only local accounts but not using the embedded SQL Server database.  Hope that is of use to people who are considering installing SharePoint 2010 Beta 2.  Really it is all pretty smooth. Hopefully my jottings will help somebody if they get stuck, but to be honest, nothing much scary went wrong.  My advice first off if things do go wrong, don’t panic.  In both cases a a careful read of the exception details indicated accurately what the issue was.  So well done to MS for a good job done on presenting the relevant error.

If you install on Window 2008 R2, I believe there is an issue which occurs during installation, so check out the link to get the details of the fix for it.

Good luck, it’s worth the effort by the way,as Wallace would say  …

 wallanceandgromit

“SharePoint 2010 is cracking Gromit”

Cheers

Dave Mc

About davemcmahon81
Software Developer & Architect, User Group Leader, Speaker, Writer, Blogger, Occasional Guitarist, Man-made Global Warming Sceptic, Climate Change Believer, General Optimist but most of all proud Husband and Dad ...

Leave a Reply

