New-SPEnterpriseSearchExtendedConnectorProperty “The term is not recognized as a cmdlet, function”.

I was configuring FAST search today using PowerShell, as I want to control database names and topology from the word go, and came across a strange issue when I got to adapting the script from this great post for my circumstances.  I got to the cmdlet “New-SPEnterpriseSearchExtendedConnectorProperty” and PowerShellgave the error “The term is not recognized as a cmdlet, function”. Bit confused, seeing as it’s in the MSDN documentation!  Nothing through Bing or Google about this issue …

So I dived into the CONFIG/POWERSHELL/Registration folder below 14 Hive as that is where the XML config for PowerShell is located.  Sure enough I find in the OSSSearchCmdlets.xml document the following section:

<ps:Cmdlet>
<ps:VerbName>New-SPEnterpriseSearchExtendedConnectorProperty</ps:VerbName>
<ps:ClassName>Microsoft.Office.Server.Search.Cmdlet.NewExtendedConnectorProperty</ps:ClassName>
<ps:HelpFile>Microsoft.Office.Server.Search.dll-help.xml</ps:HelpFile>             
<ps:FeatureDependencyId>A573867A-37CA-49dc-86B0-7D033A7ED2C8</ps:FeatureDependencyId>         
</ps:Cmdlet>

This is lookin hopeful now I thought, as there appeared to be a Feature Dependency.  So I ran the following peice of PowerShell in the Sharepoint 2010 PowerShell console:

Enable-SPFeature -Identity A573867A-37CA-49dc-86B0-7D033A7ED2C8

I got the message that the feature was already installed.  Well in for a penny in for a pound, let’s force the issue I thought, won’t do any harm, so I added the -Force attribute and ran:

Enable-SPFeature -Identity A573867A-37CA-49dc-86B0-7D033A7ED2C8 -Force

Still no joy, but I decided that the console window equivalent of an IISRESET was required, so I closed the  window and opend up a new one in  Admin mode and lo and behold, it now recognised the cmdlet. Job done.

Hope that helps somebody.

Cheers

Dave Mc

About davemcmahon81
Software Developer & Architect, User Group Leader, Speaker, Writer, Blogger, Occasional Guitarist, Man-made Global Warming Sceptic, Climate Change Believer, General Optimist but most of all proud Husband and Dad ...

3 Responses to New-SPEnterpriseSearchExtendedConnectorProperty “The term is not recognized as a cmdlet, function”.

  1. I have found an easier way was to add the SharePoint PowerShell snapin (this is automatically done if you are running the SharePoint management shell), remove it, and then re-add it. i.e. I run the following commands:

    Add-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.Powershell -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue
    Remove-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell
    Add-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.PowerShell

    Not sure why, but it works for me.

  2. Sebastien DErrico says:

    Thank you Kristoph! The command dd-PSSnapin Microsoft.SharePoint.Powershell -ErrorAction SilentlyContinue help me!

Leave a Reply

