SharePoint 2010 Ribbon and IE10 – Screen goes white.

Whilst building our new Intranet in SharePoint 2010, our directors at Ridgian went and d bought some of the new Surface devices, and meanwhile, we had a rollout of Windows 8 with IE10.  Should have perhaps done a little more regression testing before we did this, but that’s life …

One issue we can up with pretty quickly is that when IE10 is rendering a SharePoint 2010 page and we have the metatag on the page :

<meta http-equiv="X-UA-Compatible" content="IE=Edge"/>

(which strictly speaking we don’t need, as it’s the default)

Then we get an issue in IE10 whereby if you select any of the the drop down options on the Ribbon the screen goes white!!  You can still see the edges of the <div> which you wanted e.g alerts or upload new document, but the page is pretty unusable for all but the hardiest users!

I’ve no solution for this which I deem proper, but you can workaround the issue with a simple CSS entry in either your last CSS file which is rendered or put it directly into your masterpage before the </head> close tag:

<style type="text/css">
 .ms-cui-modalDiv-ie,.ms-cui-glass-ie
 {
 background-color:transparent !important;
 }
 </style>

This basically turns the white div background which is causing the issue transparent – so the problem appears to go away …

If anybody has a rigorous solution, do let me know …

Cheers

Dave Mc

About davemcmahon81
Software Developer & Architect, User Group Leader, Speaker, Writer, Blogger, Occasional Guitarist, Man-made Global Warming Sceptic, Climate Change Believer, General Optimist but most of all proud Husband and Dad ...

7 Responses to SharePoint 2010 Ribbon and IE10 – Screen goes white.

  1. Mark Locke says:

    Fantastic!

  2. Jan Lenoch says:

    Thanks, saved me a few minutes of my life! 🙂

  3. Hi Trevor, feel free to email me on David dot mcmahon at Ridgian dot co dot uk. Emailed you too, hopefully I can be of some assistance. I feel your pain!!!! Cheers Dave Mc

  4. Mai Medhat says:

    Thanks a lot Dave, you really made by day by your fix. I was having this strange issue and I thought there is something wrong in my master page.

  5. Joey76 says:

    Thanks saved me a lot of time

  6. Ojas says:

    Hi Dave,

    Thanks for the article. When I try this css in my sharepoint master page, it breaks IE8 & IE9 ribbon functionality. My ribbon flyout menus do not collapse. I can open multiple flyout menus without previous being getting collapsed.

    Please let me know if you have also faced same issue and know a workaround.

  7. Bob says:

    thanks – just another example of SharePoint being useless, even with MS’s own browser!!!

Leave a Reply

