SharePoint 2013 “Sorry, this site hasn’t been shared with you”

This rather annoying message kept coming up on our on-premise (well on-Azure) SharePoint 2013 farm when we tried to create a new subsite of any kind.  After a fair amount of beating around and finding nothing around to indicate the cause, I eventually tried adding the current user to the Web Application User Policy in Central Administration and gave it Full Control.  That didn’t seem to work, still got the message.  I then tried the same again but also ticked the “Account operates as System” which did seem to work!  I then tried to add in a Security Group  with Full Control to the User Policy but this would not let me use the “Account operates as System” option.

So this workaround would appear to be OK for a test/dev/demo environment so we’ve opted for this at the moment, but seeing as you cannot have a Group operating as System it’s not really practical for production. I’ve seen other people say re-create the Web Application – well not really an option in this case.  So if anybody has the solution fit for production, please let me know!

Cheers

Dave Mc

Advertisements

About davemcmahon81
Software Developer & Architect, User Group Leader, Speaker, Writer, Blogger, Occasional Guitarist, Man-made Global Warming Sceptic, Climate Change Believer, General Optimist but most of all proud Husband and Dad ...

2 Responses to SharePoint 2013 “Sorry, this site hasn’t been shared with you”

  1. I realize that this post is almost a year old but I found myself here today while struggling with this issue today. What I found to work was to run IE as an Administrator. So far, that seems to have done the trick for me.

  2. chandrasekar says:

    n order to share your site collection, follow these steps:

    1. Log into the site collection as a site collection administrator and choose Share.

    2. You may be prompted to authenticate.

    3. Enter the specific names or email addresses of a set of people to invite (make sure they already have permissions) or you can enter Everyone (assuming everyone has access).

    4. Or you can choose Show Options and choose a group or permission level to invite (which is safer in my opinion).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: